Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

SCSD Welcomes 17 Members to New Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council

Simpson County School District (SCSD) welcomed 17 student representatives to its new Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council on Wednesday, May 25.

Comprising two to four students from seven of the district’s schools, the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council was created to provide students a platform to share feedback, experiences and perspectives on a variety of issues affecting their schools and peers.

SCSD hosted the council at Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson for their first meeting. During the meeting, students discussed their school experiences and provided suggestions for improvement. They also had an opportunity to tour the Co-Lin campus, learn more about its career and technical education programs, and meet with Co-Lin’s executive vice president Dr. Dewayne Middleton.

“I think it’s important that everybody has a voice; and because we are here to serve students, we should be listening to their voices as well,” said SCSD Superintendent Toriano Holloway.

The Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council will meet twice a year with the district’s superintendents and will present their concerns to teachers and administrators during SCSD’s faculty convocation.

Members of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council are
Magee Elementary School: Vella Ellmore and Jaycob Hanna
Magee Middle School: Demetria Durr and Alex Kemp
Magee High School: Carson Harper and Etoyriana Traxler
Mendenhall Elementary School: Abagail Keith and Zaccari Posy
• Mendenhall Junior High School: Jyeryn Rivers, Jatavious Page and Alexa Tate
Mendenhall High School: Maci Abernathy, Steven Berry, Taylor Bridges and Walter Owens
Simpson Central School: Aaron Mullins and Kayli Smith is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.

Previous articleJames Wilson “J.W.” Thompson, Sr., 76 of Braxton, Mississippi
Next articleDo you trust Jesus? 
Patrice is married to Greg Boykin and they have two sons, Bradley & Alex Boykin. Patrice is a lifetime resident of Simpson County. Patrice retired after 25 years in the Insurance industry where 23 of those years were with State Farm Insurance in Magee. She is very active in the community and has served in several leadership roles. Patrice has been a Secretary for the Magee Touchdown Club for 19 years and President of the MS Scholars of Simpson County. Patrice was a member of the Magee Adopt A School Program. She was elected to a term on the Simpson County School Board. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Magee Chamber of Commerce. She serves on the Keep Magee Beautiful Committee and is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Simpson County Technical Center. Patrice is a member of the Simpson County Republican Executive Committee. Multiple times, Patrice was named Parent of the Year for Magee Schools as well as District Parent of the Year for the Simpson County School District. Patrice & her family are members of New Hope Baptist Church.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.