MS Dept of Education

Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

State Board of Education Selects Humphreys County and Yazoo City School Districts for Achievement School District

JACKSON, Miss – The Mississippi State Board of Education (SBE) voted today to place the Humphreys County and Yazoo City school districts in the state’s first Achievement School District, which will launch in the 2019-20 school year.

A state law enacted in 2016 requires the SBE to intervene in persistently failing school districts by placing the districts in a state-run Achievement School District (ASD). Districts that are rated “F” for two consecutive years or two out of three consecutive years, encompass 50% or more F-rated schools and/or have 50% or more of their students attending F-rated schools are subject to inclusion in the ASD.

Based on statewide accountability grades for the past three years, five districts meet all three criteria for the ASD: Humphreys County, Yazoo City, Amite County, Jefferson County and Clarksdale Municipal.

The SBE selected Humphreys and Yazoo City to form the first ASD because, together, they have the largest number of students enrolled in F-rated schools and they are located in the same region.

The new ASD will serve a total of 4,065 students, which includes 1,647 from Humphreys County and 2,418 from Yazoo City.

The SBE will be the governing body of the ASD, and the local school boards will be disbanded no later than June 1, 2019.

In December 2017, the SBE voted to delay its decision to name any district for the ASD until an ASD superintendent was selected. After a national search, the SBE hired Jermall Wright, Ed.D., to lead Mississippi’s first ASD. Wright currently serves as chief academic and accountability officer for Birmingham City Schools and previously served in state and district leadership roles at the Alabama State Department of Education, the School District of Philadelphia (PA) and Denver Public Schools.

State law requires that districts absorbed by the ASD maintain a “C” rating for five years to become eligible to revert back to local governance.

The law allows for the SBE to select additional districts for the ASD based on its established criteria and the MDE’s capacity to manage the districts.

“The Achievement School District law requires the State Board and the MDE to intervene in the state’s lowest-performing school districts in order to improve student achievement,” said SBE chair Jason Dean, Ph.D. “The children in Humphreys County and Yazoo City need and deserve an education that will equip them to be successful in college, career and life. We believe in the capacity of these children to achieve better outcomes and are committed to helping them reach their greatest potential.”

Previous articleTech Students Finish Strong In Competition
Next articleMagee Baseball Earns MHSAA Scholar Athlete Team
Patrice, wife of Greg Boykin & mother of two sons, Bradley & Alex, is a Magee hometown girl. Patrice retired after 25 years in the Insurance industry and 23 of those years were with State Farm Insurance in Magee. She is very active in the community where she served as Secretary for the Magee Touchdown Club for 18 years and President of the MS Scholars of Simpson County. She was elected to a term on the Simpson County School Board. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Magee Chamber of Commerce. She serves on the Keep Magee Beautiful Committee and is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Simpson County Technical Center. Multiple times, Patrice was named Parent of the Year for Magee Schools as well as District Parent of the Year. Patrice & her family are members of New Hope Baptist Church.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.