Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Senator Chris Caughman on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, led presentation of Senate Resolution 50  commending the Simpson County Academy “Cougars” Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Josh McNulty for winning back-to-back MAIS 5A State Championships. Simpson Academy played Oak Forest on February 18, 2023, in the MAIS 5A Tournament hosted by Pillow Academy. The “Cougars” won 60-50.  Simpson County Academy advanced to the MAIS Overall Tournament hosted at Mississippi College on February 23, 2023.

The 2022-2023 “Cougars” Championship Team is: Sawyer Dunn, Jay Rankin, Gage Smith, Colin Jenkins, Walker Phillips, Denver Carter, Braden Overby, Chanse Funchess, Bryce Williams, Benjamin Kennedy, Calvin Smith, Riley Clark, Dylan Perdomo and Head Coach Josh McNulty. Chanse Funchess, Colin Jenkins, Sawyer Dunn, and Gage Smith made the MAIS 5A All-Tournament Team. is an online news website covering Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.