Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

The yearly meeting of the member of the Simpson County Development Foundation was held Thursday night, April 21st at the historical Sanatorium Hall on the campus of Boswell Regional Center.  Sanatorium Hall is the oldest building on the Boswell campus that still performs the duty it was built for…serving food!  The staff and clients of Boswell did a beautiful job decorating the building…and the food…well, if you never eaten their food…I’m just saying…delicious!


Vice Presidents of Community Development Richard Rankin began the gave the invocation.  President John Rankin welcomed quest.  JohnRankin


Mike Moak, Chief Executive officer of the Central Mississippi Planning and Development District (and a Mendenhall, MS native) presented the program.  Mike’s intentions are “ to promote the region and held make it the best place to live, work and raise a family by working collectively to support community and economic development effort, workforce development, services to the elderly, and planning for transportation and infrastructure needs.”




Mendenhall Mayor Todd Booth recognized Polk’s Meats at the Business of the Year.  Accepting on behalf of Polk’s was Michael Hand.    ToddPolk2


Ashley Jones presented Southern Pine Electric and  Power Association with the Ally of the Year Award.  Southern Pine has been extremely supportive of the foundation.  Accepting the award for SP was Larry Robinson and Charlie Robinson.




The SCDF was organized in 1979 and designed to promote economic development and growth in Simpson County.  A group of private citizens met and formed the organization to work to attract industry to Simpson County.


President John Rankin called the business session to order.  Following remarks by Rankin and Executive Director Donnie Caughman the minutes from last year’s meeting were read and approved.  John Rankin passed the gavel to incoming president Brian Barnard.




Simpson County Development Foundation Executive Committee for 2017:  Brian Barnard, President; Skip Russell, President-elect; Pat Brown, Secretary-Treasurer; Vice Presidents-Government Relations, Todd Booth, Jimmy Clyde, and Gregg Paes; Vice-President Community Development, Mallory Yelverton; Vice-President Economic Development, Stan Bulger, and Vice President Stakeholder Development, Jacob Blakeney.


Board of Directors:

Class of 2017:  Brien Hubbard, Kelly Jones, Cyndi McIntyre, and Marney Walker

Class of 2018:  Josh Duckworth, Brandon Hubbard, Mike Jolly, and Faith Kennedy

Class of 2019:  Whitney Baker, Julie Breazeale, Cynthia Bynum, and Price Wallace




Simpson Leaders 2016:  Will Beeson, Angie Berry, Bo Huffman, Kim Newsome, Marney Walker, Faith Wallace and Stacey Warren.  Coordinator:  Richard Rankin





KitchenCrewCrowdKitchen Staff at Boswell Regional Center





BrianBarnard                                                                                                                                                                                             President elect Brian Bernard


tutorappad mobile app


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.