Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Rep. Noah Sanford


The 2022 session adjourned on Tuesday, April 5.  To provide for allocation of federal funds received by virtue of Congress’ passing of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA), the session was lengthened by a few days.

The most important bills to pass this session:

The START Act would provide the largest teacher and assistant teacher salary increase in state history, boosting teacher pay to above the Southeastern average.

The Mississippi Tax Freedom Act will cut the state’s income tax by approximately 20 percent over five years.  This will make Mississippi’s income tax the fifth lowest of the states that levy income taxes.

Parker’s Law will increase criminal penalties to a minimum of 20 years for knowingly selling an illegal substance containing fentanyl, when the user dies as a result.

The Pregnancy Resource Act will provide a tax credit for contributions to qualified crisis pregnancy centers, with the total collective credit being capped at $3.5 million.

House Bill 1430 will allow for owners of motor vehicles to make a beneficiary designation to their titles.  Known as a “Transfer on Death,” title to the vehicle would not pass until the death of the owner, and the owner could change the beneficiary at any time for any reason.  This will make estate planning an easier task.

The Medical Cannabis Act was passed very early in the session and has already been signed into law by Gov. Reeves.  The Department of Health has been working since passage to get the program off the ground.

In addition to these bills, both the House and Senate approved new legislative and congressional redistricting plans, as is required by federal and state law.  District 90 saw minor changes, losing part of the Mount Olive precinct in Covington County as well as the Dry Creek, Bowie, and Oak Grove precincts in Simpson County, and picking up some territory in the City of Magee in Simpson County as well as the Rawls Springs precinct in Forrest County and the Hebron and Shelton precincts in Jones County.  The District’s lines in Jefferson Davis County would be unchanged.

As always, I appreciate the opportunity to serve.  Please contact me if I may be of assistance or if you have questions or concerns.

Noah Sanford represents parts of Covington, Simpson, and Jefferson Davis Counties in the Mississippi House of Representatives.  He can be reached at is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.