Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

The Simpson County School Board met Thursday, December 9, 2021, for their regular scheduled meeting.

The agenda was approved by the board.

Board member Stan Bulger commented on the excellent job Superintendent Holloway is doing on reporting data to the board.

The board approved the minutes.

The following consent agenda was approved by the board:

A. Monthly Asset Disposals


B. Request permission for Dr. Paul Lawrence, Dr. Antionette Woodall, Dr. Tori Holloway, Dr. Robert Sanders, Dr. Deirdre Sanders and Mr. Bill Broadhead to visit East Felicianan Parish School District for NIET Observation, December 14-15, 2021.


C. Request for Joanna Maddox to attend MASBO’s 52nd Annual Conference, February 7-10, 2022 in Flowood.


D. Request to accept the low bid from AXI for Promethean branded equipment.


E. Aleice McGowan, District Technology Director, requested permission to solicit bids for a three-year contract for local Wide Area Network (WAN) services from July 2022-June 2025.


F. Permission to approve the following contracts/agreements which were previously approved by the Board’s legal counsel.

  • Education Resources, LLC
  • Preparing for Testing Success
  • Pickering
G. Permission to accept a $100.00 donation from Kid’s First to be used to bless a member of our school community during the holiday season.
H. Permission for Dr. Holloway and Board Members to attend the National School Board Conference, April 1-5, 2022 in San Deigo, CA
I. Permission for Simpson County Technical Center to accept $3000 non-traditional grant from MDE.


J. Approve Timber Sale–bids which were opened Wednesday, December 8th @ 2:00


K. Approve contract for Beaver Control on Section 16-9N-21W.  Cost should not exceed $2300.00  (Shared section with Lawrence County, they will be under the same contract for their part of the section.)



The board approved hiring Curtis Wicker as the new SPED director for the district. Mr. Wicker met before the board to introduce himself and answer any questions.

The following resignation were approved by the board:

  • Bonnie Jackson
  • Crystal Graves
  • Lee Winn
  • Jamie Locke

The following approvals were approved by the board:

  • Kristyn Boykin
  • Curits Wicker
  • Meggan Windham
  • Cyrstal Graves

All financial reports and claims docket were presented to the board by Joanna Maddox, finance Director, and approved.

Magee High School, Magee Middle School, and Mendenhall Jr. High presented their monthly ATSI-TSI-SAR reports.

With no further business , the meeting recessed to enter into executive session to discuss student discipline and prospected purchase or leasing of land.

A special called board meeting has been set for Tuesday, December 14, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.