Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Senator Chris Caughman and Representative Noah Sanford presented Senate Concurrent Resolution 623 to Linda Dear, Head Coach of the Simpson County Academy “Lady Cougars” basketball team for an award winning season culminating in them becoming the 2019 MAIS AAAA Division II State Champions.

The efforts of all involved, especially Coach Dear, and Assistant Coaches Chaucer Funchess, Brandi Giordano and Chris Caughman, were needed to secure the championship.

With a 31-8 record, the Lady Cougars won the District and State Championships.

The All-State Team consists of Morgan Griffith, Alissa Grace Brewer, T.K Catchings and Alexis Sullivan; All-Star Team:  Morgan Griffith; and Overall State Team:  Morgan Griffith and Alissa Grace Brewer.

The Simpson County “Lady Cougars” Girls Basketball Team 2019 State AAAA Division II Championship Roster is:  Gracie Bowen; Ma’Nia Womack; Alexis Sullivan; Mollie Jones; Ellie Hilton; Adeline Bond; Anna Claire Walker; Sabra Hubbard; Maddie Moody; TK Catchings; Morgan Griffith; Alissa Brewer; Gracie Giordano; Kristin Busby and Lauren Teater; and Head Coach Linda Dear; Assistant Coaches:  Chaucer Funchess, Brandi Giordano and Chris Caughman; Manager, Maura Pruitt; Scorekeeper, Gabi Prather; Stats, Beverly Baldwin; Water Girl, Charlye Bowen; and Video, Avery Crain.


 Chuck Cooper State Farm


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.