Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

The Simpson Academy Cross Country Team hosted the Early Bird 2-Miler on Saturday, August 14 at Neely Farms in Magee.

More than 200 runners participated in the meet, which included five races: Varsity Girls, Varsity Boys, Homeschoolers, JV Girls and JV Boys.

The Simpson Academy Cross Country Team’s own Layla Warren won first place in the varsity girls’ race with a time of 12:43, but the team from Columbia Academy finished first after placing six runners in the top ten.  Emma Overstreet was also in the top ten, finishing 4th.

In the varsity boys’ race, Jake Harrington from Lamar Christian came in first with a time of 11:12, leading his team to victory.

Ainsley Freeman of Brookhaven won the homeschool girls’ race, while Noah Gill won the boys’ race.

Simpson was back on top when the JV girls ran with Caroline McAlpin finishing first with a time of 14:00, and the Cougars kept it up when Denver Carter crossed the line first in the JV Boys’ Race, coming in at 11:58.  Braden Overby, Jayden Smith and Parker Payne also finished in the top ten, securing the team victory for the Cougars.

The Simpson Academy Cross Country Team had the following Top Ten Finishers: Jayden Smith, Denver Carter, Parker Payne, Braden Overby, Layla Warren, Caroline McAlpin, Sophie Grubbs and Emma Overstreet.
Layla Warren, Caroline McAlpin and Denver Carter won the Varsity Girl’s Race, JV Girls’ Race and JV Boys’ Race respectively.
The Simpson Academy JV Boys team won. Team members include: (Front Row) Parker Payne, Jayden Smith, John Thomas White, (Back Row) Thomas Martin, Denver Carter, and Braden Overby.
The Simpson Academy Cross Country Team with Coach Angel Overstreet, who was named the MAIS 4A Coach of the Year for 2020.


To see the full race results, visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.