Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Secretary of State Honors 2014 Promote the Vote Winners

 Jackson—Winners of the 2014 Promote the Vote contest were honored at the State Capitol by Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann.  The awards ceremony is a culmination of an annual educational project to encourage students to become more involved in Mississippi’s selection process.

“By participating in Promote the Vote, we empower our students with the knowledge to become actively involved in their communities,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann.  “Students are more familiar with the voting process and learn civic participation at an early age.”

Promote the Vote is a K-12 annual voter education program, free to participating schools.  The curriculum was developed in conjunction with the Mississippi Department of Education to parallel the state’s social studies curriculum. It includes classroom activities, contests and a mock election during statewide elections.

This year, 198 schools and more than 73,000 students participated in the Promote the Vote program themed “It’s my Party.”  The program focused on the importance of the role of political parties in the election system.  Secretary Hosemann presented awards in the following categories:  art, political cartoon, essay, and political party design.  More than 350 total entries were submitted.  Student winners receive a Certificate of Achievement from Secretary Hosemann, as well as an Outstanding Citizens medallion for their accomplishments.image004




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.