Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.


Winners Included Participants from Union, Rankin, Jasper and Pontotoc Counties


JACKSON, Miss. – Commissioner Andy Gipson announced the winners of the Mule Pull at the Mississippi State Fair Saturday, October 12.


This competition was designed to test the strength, endurance and discipline of each team of mules entered. These harnessed pairs were first separated into three weight classes, light, middle and heavy weight, then given the opportunity to pull a weighted sled 12 feet across the arena of the Kirk Fordice Equine Center.


A designated panel of judges officiated the event. The winners were decided by a combination of the most amounts of weight pulled and the farthest distance covered, within the allotted time. Each team was given three tries to complete the full pull, with a time limit of five minutes. Immediately following, Commissioner Gipson announced the first, second and third place winners within each weight class. The first place prize for each class included $400, second place received $250 and third place received $100.


“It was such a joy to bring the legendary Horse and Mule Pull back to the state fair, as well as holding a Pony Pull” said Commissioner Gipson. “It was a fun, new attraction that the entire family could enjoy and I appreciate all the teams that participated in this event.”


Commissioner Gipson announced Barry Harrison of Union County as the light weight division’s first place champion of the 2019 Mississippi State Fair’s Mule Pull. Second place went to Jennifer Callais of Tickfaw, Louisiana, and third place went to Henry Rutland of Rankin County.


Grace Robb of Jasper County was then announced as the middle weight division’s first place champion. Second place went to Richard Little of Union County and third place went to James Little of Pontotoc County.


Commissioner Gipson also announced Laramie Kinchen of Independence, Louisiana, as the heavy weight division’s first place champion. Second place went to Mike Aimee of Holden, Louisiana.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.