Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Peoples Bank Announces 2020 Christmas Card Contest Winners

Winning Christmas Card

Children from Covington, Jeff-Davis, Lawrence, Simpson, Smith, and Rankin counties submitted hundreds of amazing pieces of original artwork for the annual Peoples Bank Christmas Card Contest. Professional artists served as judges and had quite a task.  Thirty winners were selected in age categories and as overall winners.  The top overall winner, Wyatt Cannon, was chosen as the cover to the annual greeting card mailed to all Peoples Bank’s customers and also received a $100 savings account.  We are so very proud of Wyatt, all category winners and participants.

2020 Winners include:

1st (cover)                                Wyatt Cannon                     8                      Mize

2nd Place                                  Jaylynn Glenn                          10                    Mize

3rd Place                                  Nyla Sanders                           11                    Simpson Central

Honorable Mention                Fox Groover                            11                    SCA

Honorable Mention                Jaydee Lane                             12                    SCA



11-12-Year-Old Winners

1st Place                                   Payten Myers                          11                    SCA

2nd Place                                  Hayden Burney                       11                    Mize

3rd Place                                  Celest Pierce                           11                    PCS

Honorable Mention                Rhett Daughdrill                      11                    PCS

Honorable Mention                Anna Clarie Bass                      11                    PCS



9-10-Year-Old Winners

1st Place                                   Keilani Brent                            9                      Simpson Central

2nd Place                                  Piper Sanders                          10                    Simpson Central

3rd Place                                  Sarynity Leggett                      9                      Mendenhall

Honorable Mention                Kiptyn Lewis                            10                    Simpson Central

Honorable Mention                Hunter Knight                         10                    Magee



7-8-Year-Old Winners

1st Place                                   Brendan Dyes                          8                      Discovery Christian

2nd Place                                  Elise Purvis                              7                      Discovery Christian

3rd Place                                  Owen Wolken                         7                      Mt. Zion

Honorable Mention                Morgan Wells                          7                      Discovery Christian

Honorable Mention                Colby Bennett                         8                      Simpson Central


5-6-Year-Old Winners

1st Place                                   Camden Duckworth                6                      SCA

2nd Place                                  Chloe Roberts                         6                      Seminary

3rd Place                                  Sarah Cate Gary                      6                      SCA

Honorable Mention                David “Dash” Sullivan              6                      PCS

Honorable Mention                Asher Harkey                           6                      Mendenhall



4 and Under

1st Place                                   Laura James Baker                  4                      FBC Magee

2nd Place                                  Pyper Cantrell                         4                      FBC Magee

3rd Place                                  Brynlea Runnels                      4                      FBC Magee

Honorable Mention                Ava Garner                              3                      FBC Magee

Honorable Mention                Kyler Pegram                           3                      FBC Magee



Winners received customized gift boxes early in December that included art supplies, activities, Christmas sweets and treats, award medals and a keepsake Christmas ornament created with each child’s individual artwork.



Wyatt Cannon is the 8-year-old son of Joey and Kasey Cannon of Mize, Mississippi. He is in the 3rd grade at Mize Elementary. is an online news source covering Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.