Michael Guest

Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward MageeNews.com a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Reps. Guest and Letlow Introduce Resolution to Recognize Fallen Officers During National Police Week

Washington, D.C.  – Today, Congressman Michael Guest (MS-03) and Congresswoman Julia Letlow (LA-05) introduced a resolution expressing support for recognizing National Police Week and the 619 law enforcement officers who lost their lives in the line of duty or whose stories were otherwise recovered during 2021.

“With this resolution, I hope to let our officers know that Congress supports their efforts and joins the nation in remembering the brave heroes who gave their lives in service to their fellow Americans. This legislation signals that, as their elected officials, we stand with them to honor those men and women who paid the ultimate price in service to our communities and to our nation. I encourage all Americans to thank a law enforcement officer this week and continue to pray for the safety of every man and woman in blue. May God continue to protect our law enforcement officers,” Guest said.

March 15th will mark the 60th anniversary of the day President John F. Kennedy signed into law legislation authorizing the President of the United States to declare the week that includes May 15th each year as Police Week. It is a time to pay special recognition and respect to those officers who lost their lives in the previous year and honor our law enforcement community.

In addition to Congressman Guest and Congresswoman Letlow, the legislation has received support from 77 original cosponsors:

Rep. Steve Scalise (LA-01), Rep. John Katko (NY-24), Rep. Val Demings (FL-10), Rep. Andrew Garbarino (NY-02), Rep. Carlos Gimenez (FL-26), Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03), Rep. Robert J. William (VA-01), Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01), Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-10), Rep. Ashley Hinson (IA-01),  Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13), Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-04), Rep. Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27), Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Rep. Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Rep. Ralph Norman (SC-05), Rep. Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Rep. Andre Carson (IN-07), Rep. Tim Ryan (OH-13), Rep. Bill Johnson (OH-06), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Rep. Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03), Rep. Steven Palazzo (MS-04), Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-50), Rep. Bob Good (VA-05), Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Rep. Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11), Rep. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (GA-01), Rep. Mike Garcia (CA-25), Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16), Rep. Troy Nehls (TX-22), Rep. Young Kim (CA-39), Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01) Rep. John Moolenaar (MI-04), Rep. Peter Meijer (MI-03), Rep. Tracey Mann (KS-01), Rep. Garret Graves (LA-06), Rep. Daniel Kildee (MI-05), Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), Rep. Lisa McClain (MI-10), Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01), Rep. Robert Latta (OH-05), Rep. Warren Davidson (OH-08), Rep. Bryan Steil (WI-01), Rep. Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-15), Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Rep. Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Rep. Alex Mooney (WV-02), Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02), Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-16), Rep. Mike Johnson (LA-04), Rep. Burgess Owens (UT-04), Rep. Liz Cheney (WY-At Large), Rep. David Kustoff (TN-08), Rep. William Timmons (SC-04), Rep. Jay Obernolte (CA-08), Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Rep. Greg Pence (IN-06), Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10), Rep. David P. Joyce (OH-14), Rep. Troy Balderson (OH-12), Rep. Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Rep. Chris Jacobs (NY-27), Rep. Tom Emmer (MN-06), Rep. Pete Stauber (MN-08), Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-AL), Rep. Andrew S. Clyde (GA-09), Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09), Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02), Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08), Rep. Bruce Westerman (AR-04), Rep. Andy Harris (MD-01)

MageeNews.com is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.

Previous articleSkittles, Starbursts and Life Savers Gummies Recalled
Next articleBerry to Play in NJCAA National Championship
Patrice, wife of Greg Boykin & mother of two sons, Bradley & Alex, is a Magee hometown girl. Patrice retired after 25 years in the Insurance industry and 23 of those years were with State Farm Insurance in Magee. She is very active in the community where she served as Secretary for the Magee Touchdown Club for 18 years and President of the MS Scholars of Simpson County. She was elected to a term on the Simpson County School Board. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Magee Chamber of Commerce. She serves on the Keep Magee Beautiful Committee and is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Simpson County Technical Center. Multiple times, Patrice was named Parent of the Year for Magee Schools as well as District Parent of the Year. Patrice & her family are members of New Hope Baptist Church.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.