Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

One hundred and five of the thousands of K-12 students who participated in 2017 Promote the Vote activities were recognized at the Mississippi Capitol for high achievement in the arts and writing.

The Simpson Academy winning team was unable to attend the formal ceremony. SCA students History teacher, Kevin Davis, took the students to the Capital to meet Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann on Thursday,

March 1, 2018.

Promote the Vote is Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann’s comprehensive K-12 voter education program.  This year, in celebration of the State’s 200-year history, the annual Promote the Vote art and writing contests centered on “Mississippi’s Bicentennial Birthday.”

More than 1,200 students entered the art contest, which asked entrants to depict “My Mississippi,” or an industry, person, landmark, or other notable symbol from their region of the State.  For the essay contest, entrants were asked to write about “Moving Forward,” by identifying an issue in their region of the State and proposing a way to address it.  More than 200 students submitted essays for consideration.

For purposes of the contests, the State was divided into nine regions: the Coast, Lower River, Piney Woods, Capital Area, East Central, Delta, Clay Hills, Northeast Corner, and North.  Seventy-three students won art awards, and 32 students won essay awards.

Simpson Academy was considered part of the Capital Area Region.

In the Art 7-9, SCA student Annalee Lovellady Wansley won 1st place and Baylor Holfield won 3rd place. In Art in the 10-12 division, Morgan May won 3rd place.

In the Essay division 7-9, Mollie Jones won 1st place, Blair Smith won 2nd place, and Mary Margaret White won 3rd place.

Pictured: Kevin Davis (history teacher), Baylor Holyfield, Mollie Jones, Mary Margaret White, Secretary Hosemann, Blair Smith, Annalee Wansley, Morgan May, and Senator Chris Caughman

Congratulations to these students and a special thank you to their teacher, Mr. Davis.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.