Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

The Mississippi Senate and House of Representatives on Monday, April 12, 2021, honored the Magee High School “Trojans” football team with presentation of Senate Resolution 3 and House Concurrent Resolution 11, commending their winning of the first Mississippi 3A State Championship in 20 years by besting Noxubee County on December 4, 2020.

The Magee Trojans beat Noxubee 49-26 at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium to finish the season 12-0 in clinching the first state championship since 2000 and fifth in school history.

Each athlete on the team had stellar performances, said Coach Teddy Dyess.

Among the historic moments were quarterback Chandler Pittman, ranked as a three-star athlete by 247 Sports composite rankings, being responsible for five touchdowns and wide receiver Xavier Franks, a three-star receiver committed to University of Central Florida, catching four passes for 55 yards and a touchdown.

The Trojans 2020-2021 State Championship Varsity Football Team roster is: Cayden Bridges, WR, DB; Chandler Pittman, QB, SB, CB; Emanuel Thurman, MLB; Cameron Floyd, LB; Jaylen Floyd, WR; Javon (Jody) Durr, LB; Xavier Franks, WR, CB, DB; Tristan Newsome, QB, DB; Thomas Dyess, QB, WR, LS; Tylan Benson, RB, LB; James Floyd, RB; DQ Levy, WR, FS; De’juan Brown, DB; Kyerston Tucker, WR; Jameyian Spencer, RB, LB; Banks Teater, LS; Jaquez Durr; Gavin Drones, DB; Demichael Green, WR; Jawon Shaw, RB, LB; Jay Sims, WR, DB; Jamari Smith, LB; Billy Hubbard, WR; Kendarious Rogers, LB; Jamarion Kitchens, DB; Jonathan Barnes; Darian Woods, LB; Isaac Tatum, RB, DB; Keywhaun Ducksworth, RB, DL; Gavyn Chafin, K; Wesley McCollum, WR; Romanuel Barber, DB; Gabe Branning, DE, OLB; Joshua (Josh) Keyes, DL; Lavell Milton, Jr., RB; Marcus Herrington, LB; Kurtson (Kurt) Thurman, OL, DL; Jamaal Dinkins, OL, DL; Jordan Magee, OL, LB; Kris Hayes, DL; Preston Grim, C, G; Christopher Dinkins, G, DE; Jaylen Hicks, DT; Jacolby Bridges; Matthew Higgins, OL, DL; Tyler Barnes, OL; DJ Jones, G, DE; Gabriel Hooker, OL; W. Bryce Herrington, T, G; Christian Mendez, OL, DL; Hunter Steele, C; Corshawn Jones, OL, DL; Dylan Harper; and Isaiah Graves, WR; and Coach Teddy Dyess.

Photo: Senator Chris Caughman, (left), presented Coach Teddy Dyess with Senate Resolution 3 and Representatives Price Wallace and Noah Sanford presented House Concurrent Resolution 11. is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.