Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.



Filling Position Would Promote Greater Opportunities in Eight-State Delta Region

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today joined colleagues in asking President Biden to name a Federal Co-Chair to the Delta Regional Authority (DRA), a position needed to allow the organization to fully use its ability to make investments in the eight-state Delta Region.

Hyde-Smith joined Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), and Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.) in making the request in a letter to the President.

“As a federal-state partnership, the DRA requires an affirmative vote of both a federal member and a majority of State members in order to execute its grant making activities.  We understand that the DRA does not have the statutory authority to make program eligibility determinations or new grant awards without the appointment of a Federal Co-Chair or Alternate Federal Co-Chair,” the Senators wrote.  “We urge you to promptly appoint a new Federal Co-Chair to the DRA.”

In Mississippi, the DRA covers 48 counties.  Its targeted grants to Mississippi communities and organizations support economic development, job training, infrastructure, educational programs, and, importantly, health care projects like telehealth.  Other DRA states include Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, Alabama, Missouri, Illinois, and Kentucky.

Hyde-Smith serves on the Senate Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee, which has jurisdiction over the DRA.

Read the letter to President Biden here. is an online news source serving Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.

Previous articleDenise Anderson Blackwell of Taylorsville, Mississippi
Next articleKellogg Foundation provides grant to help students complete degrees
Patrice, wife of Greg Boykin & mother of two sons, Bradley & Alex, is a Magee hometown girl. Patrice retired after 25 years in the Insurance industry and 23 of those years were with State Farm Insurance in Magee. She is very active in the community where she served as Secretary for the Magee Touchdown Club for 18 years and President of the MS Scholars of Simpson County. She was elected to a term on the Simpson County School Board. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Magee Chamber of Commerce. She serves on the Keep Magee Beautiful Committee and is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Simpson County Technical Center. Multiple times, Patrice was named Parent of the Year for Magee Schools as well as District Parent of the Year. Patrice & her family are members of New Hope Baptist Church.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.