Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Co-Lin Foundation Board elects new officers

            WESSON – Sammye Burris of Brookhaven is the new president of the Copiah-Lincoln Community College Foundation Board of Directors. She follows Andrew Calvit of Natchez. Other officers are Dr. Donald Cotten of Hattiesburg, vice-president; Sarah Johnson of Ruth, secretary; and Charles Hart of Wesson, treasurer.

Burris graduated from Co-Lin in 1987 and later attended The University of Mississippi School of Banking. She currently works as a loan officer and executive vice president at United Mississippi Bank. Burris has been a member of the Co-Lin Foundation Board since 2013.

Cotten graduated from Co-Lin in 1966. He received a bachelor’s degree in biology and a master’s degree in science education with an emphasis in biology from The University of Southern Mississippi, and a doctorate in curriculum and instruction from West Virginia University. He currently works as a consultant to universities in the private sector for funding initiatives and business development. Cotten has been a member of the Co-Lin Foundation Board since 2016.

Johnson graduated from Co-Lin in 2010 and Mississippi State University in 2012 with a degree in apparel, textiles and merchandising, and a minor in general business administration. Johnson currently works as office manager of the Co-Lin Foundation and Alumni Relations office.

Hart graduated from Co-Lin in 1970 and received a bachelor’s degree from Delta State University and a master’s degree in accounting from The University of Southern Mississippi. He is an accounting instructor at Co-Lin, manager of the college’s bookstore and is a licensed CPA. Hart has been a member of the Co-Lin Foundation Board since it was founded in 1981.

The Co-Lin Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization which serves as the fundraising arm of the college. The Foundation is governed by a 25-member board of directors whose goal is to raise private monies to support the mission of the college.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.