Delbert Hosemann

Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Secretary of State Honors 2015 Promote the Vote Winners


Jackson, MS —Winners of the 2015 Promote the Vote contest were honored at the State Capitol by Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann.  The awards ceremony is a culmination of an annual educational project to encourage students to become more involved in Mississippi’s election process.


“By participating in Promote the Vote, we empower our students with the knowledge to become actively involved in their communities,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann.  “Students are more familiar with the voting process and learn civic participation at an early age.  We want our young people to become voters and this program encourages them to be a part of the election process.”


Promote the Vote is a K-12 annual voter education program, free to participating schools.  It began in 1996 and more than 1.5 million students have participated to date.  The curriculum was developed in conjunction with the Mississippi Department of Education to parallel the state’s social studies curriculum. It includes classroom activities, contests and a mock election during statewide elections.


This year, 159 schools and more than 45,000 students participated in the Promote the Vote program themed “If I Were Elected”.  Secretary Hosemann presented awards in the following categories:  art, political cartoon, essay, and political party design.  Student winners received a Certificate of Achievement from Secretary Hosemann, as well as an Outstanding Citizens medallion for their accomplishments.


The winners are as follows:



tutorappad mobile app



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.