Please note that this post contains affiliate links and any sales made through such links will reward a small commission – at no extra cost to you.

Simpson County Circuit Clerk Whit Fortenberry explained the absentees and affidavits should be competed Wednesday afternoon but  may take several hours.

7,081 ballots were cast.

3rd Congressional District US House of Representative

R. Michael Guest—5,129

Shuwaski A Young—1,875


District 4 position 1 Court of Appeals

Bruce Burnton—3,871

Virginia Carlton—2,453


Chancery District 13 Place 2 Chancery Court Judge

David Shoemake—4,401

Albert Turnage—2,198

Judge Gerald Martin, Judge Matt Sullivan, and Judge Stanley Sorey unopposed

Local citizens gathered in the Court Room awaiting election results

Chancery Clerk Simpson County

Red Everett—326

Clayton Giles—1,138

Tim Gray—3,119

Willie McDonald—116

Randy Moore—693

Tameika Smith—1,503

Run off between Gray and Smith

Ballot boxes brought into the Court House

School Board District 1

Lillie Hardy—unopposed

School Board District 2

Krystal Kahn—581

Ralph Walker—808






(Sue note:  The election turnout was much better than the last election.  According to sources from the polls, there were no reported issues at the voting precincts.) is an online news source covering Simpson and surrounding counties as well as the State of Mississippi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.